Explore the Rainy-Lake of the Woods Basin through a virtual tour

The International Rainy-Lake of the Woods watershed is incredibly unique – it straddles the Canada/U.S. border and is dominated by water – streams, rivers, wetlands, lakes. Because about 41% of the watershed is in the U.S.A. (Minnesota) and 59% is in Canada (Ontario and Manitoba) agencies work across the border to ensure healthy waters. Not only does water provide the foundation for the thriving fishery and tourism industry, it is a vital source of drinking water for many communities including International Falls in MN, Fort Frances and Kenora in ON, Winnipeg, MB and many First Nation and tribal communities.

Watershed Restoration and Protection Projects - A Virtual Tour Tour of Local Projects

 

The Lake of the Woods Sustainability Foundation has created an interactive website specifically for the Rainy-Lake of the Woods Basin as a hub for you to get all your Basin-wide information.  Here, you will find all the latest newsletters, events, and resources.

New: Rainy-Lake of the Woods Watershed Website

 

The Lake of the Woods Sustainability Foundation has created an interactive website specifically for the Rainy-Lake of the Woods Basin as a hub for you to get all your Basin-wide information.  Here, you will find all the latest newsletters, events, and resources.

Rainy-Lake of the Woods Basin News & Events

MORE UPDATES COMING SOON!

Bi-national Drain Stencil Project

 

Most storm sewer drains in the U.S. and Canada drain directly to a water body.  Koochiching SWCD partnered with the Lake of the Woods Sustainability Foundation to work with local students on both sides of the border to mark as many drains as possible to help make the public aware that anything that is dumped will go directly to our waterways.  The effort was led by Kelli Saunders of the Lake of the Woods Sustainability Foundation, each school’s shop class created the stencils, the city/town assisted, the school was directly involved, and Koochiching SWCD gave a presentation on how runoff affects our water.

This project is funded by the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency and The Clean Water Fund.

On May 25, 2017, 6th graders from Falls Elementary School participated in the drain stencil project and completed almost 60 stencils near the school!

On May 31, 2017, The 8th graders of Fort Frances High School painted a whopping 70 drain stencils starting near the Sorting Gap Marina all the way to the hospital and between.

lowwsf_logo

Lake of the Woods Sustainability Foundation

Lake of the Woods Sustainability Foundation Website

mpca-logo

Mike Kennedy

Project Manager

218-302-6629

mike.kennedy@state.mn.us

mpca-logo

Amy Mustonen

Watershed Project Manager

218-302-6638

amy.mustonen@state.mn.us

mpca-logo

Cary Hernandez

Watershed Project Manager

218-846-8124

cary.hernandez@state.mn.us

koochichingswcd-logo

Jolen Simon

Program Coordinator

218-283-1180

jolen.simon@co.koochiching.mn.us

itasca

Kim Yankowiak

Water Resources Technician/Specialist

218-283-1180

kim.yankowiak@itascaswcd.org

nslswcd-logo

Phil Norvitch

Resource Conservationist

218-471-7287

phil@nslswcd.org

south-st-louis-swcd-logo

Kate Kubiak

Conservation Specialist

218-723-4867

Kate.Kubiak@southstlouisswcd.org

logo

Mike Hirst

Resource Technician

218-634-1842 ext. 4

mike.hirst@mn.nacdnet.net

lake-swcd

Derrick Passe

Project Coordinator

218-834-8575

derrick.passe@co.lake.mn.us

cook-swcd-logo

Philip Larson

Conservation Technician

218-387-3649

philip.larson@co.cook.mn.us

Print

Zachrie Gutknecht

218-333-4158

zachrie.gutknecht@co.beltrami.mn.us

roseau-swcd-logo

Janine Lovold

Water Planner

218-463-1903

janine.lovold@mn.nacdnet.net

Contact Us

Have a question or comment? Contact us about how we can help you and we'll get back to you as soon as possible.